O’Brien & Zehnder Law Firm - New Name, New Look, Same Great FirmRead more »

Turlock Toddler Recovering in Hospital After Hit and Run Crash

Posted on February 18th, 2015 by Staff

Marvin Cain II’s son Samuel was transported by air to UC Davis Medical Center in Sacramento after a reckless driver hit the little boy and ran him over in Turlock. The toddler was playing in front of his home on Lambert Way Friday evening, February 13 when a gray Ford Focus came in fast and hit him. The boy’s father recalled the driver as a 'light-skinned young man in his teens,' who is an acquaintance of his neighbor’s.

The driver apparently yelled he did not have a license, which is why it is believed he fled the scene. He faces felony hit and run charges when he will be arrested. Samuel Cain is in a safe state and is expected to make a full recovery, despite his serious injuries.

Marvin Cain II also declared that he hopes the city will put in speed bumps and road signs that tell drivers to slow down in that particular area in order to avoid any accidents, as the majority of people who live there have children.

Hit and Run Data

The percentage of hit and run cases is continuously rising in the past years, and 1 in every five pedestrians killed in a road accident is the victim of a hit and run. Unfortunately, one of the main reasons for hit and run accidents is the growing sum of unlicensed or illegal drivers who worry about legal penalties for their actions. California is the number one state with the largest illegal immigrant population with the highest number of hit and run accidents.

According to CHP’s State Integrated Traffic Records System (SWITRS), the 2012 annual account of fatal and injury automobile traffic accidents shows there were 115 fatal hit and run collisions, in which 116 people died, and 2,025 injury collisions, in which 2,147 people were injured.

What Are the Penalties for Felony Hit and Run in California?

There are two different sentencing schemes in California Vehicle Code 20001 VC:

  • one is for accidents that simply cause an injury
  • one is for accidents that cause death or permanent, serious injury

If convicted of California felony hit and run involving temporary, non-serious injury, you may have to withstand any or all of the following:

  • a fine of $1,000 to $10,000
  • up to 1 year in a county jail (if the prosecutor brings the offense down to a misdemeanor)
  • 16 months or 2 or 3 years in a California State Prison (when the prosecutor sees the offense as a felony)
  • restitution, only if the victim's injuries were originated or augmented by the fact that you left the scene
  • per the California DMV, 2 points on your driving record

If convicted in California for a felony hit and run resulting in death or permanent, serious injury (defined as a loss or permanent impairment of one's body), you face any or all of the following:

  • a fine of $1,000 to $10,000
  • at least 90 days and no more than one year in a county jail (if the prosecutor reduces the charge to a misdemeanor)
  • 2 to 4 years in the California State Prison (if the prosecutor sees the offense as a felony)
  • restitution, only if the victim's injuries were originated or augmented by the fact that you left the scene
  • per the California DMV, 2 points on your driving record

Contacting an Experienced Hit and Run Accident Lawyer in Sacramento & Elk Grove Areas

Since hit and run accidents are sadly common in our state, my staff and I have extensive experience in handling these cases. We realize how distressing it is not to be able to recover damages following an auto accident; therefore, we do everything to help injured clients.

Call the Sacramento & Elk Grove-based O'Brien & Zehnder Law Firm at 800.722.4176 for quality legal representation in your case.



Source: